First Month Mark (I have plants!)

So it has been about a month since my move to Puerto Rico. Things are hot here. I have successfully been to the ocean 3 times, the pool 2, and have taken an innumerable amount of cold showers (by choice). I am beginning to settling in to the apartment and have even painted for the first time in months!

I am getting more comfortable with the neighborhood but adventuring by myself is something I am still cautious of. I imagine that this is a common occurrence when you move to a new place. While I have lived and studied abroad, this is my first permanent move out of the state that I was born and raised so I am still in a phase of adjustment.

One thing that I have not come accustomed to yet is the occasional shaking of the building. My best guess is tremors on the island. I haven’t noticed any serious earthquakes but at times I can feel the apartment shake which is something brand new to me!

I am officially starting my own little urban garden. I have cilantro, rosemary, and chives growing. I was given culantro seeds but they have not sprouted yet. After some bumpy weeks I am beginning to feel more relaxed and settled. The plants definitely helped.

(Pictured: my caladium plant featuring a guache painting by yours truly)

 

Leave a Reply

